Aion Free-To-Play

Aion Free-To-Play is a 3D fantasy action MMORPG set in the fantasy world of Atreia, developed by NCsoft and published by GameForge on Europe.

Although AION switched to the free-to-play model all the new players will have a few limitations, mainly trading and chat amongst others.Restrictions can be removed by upgrading account.

There are now three different account Types as follows:


You will receive the Starter rank when you start playing AION after the switch to the free-to-play model. As a Starter you will have access to all regions. You will be able to select your hero from the entire range of four classes, level them up to level 55 as well as experience all 3,900 quests – and all absolutely free! Some game options will be limited however: amongst other things, you will only be able to create two characters, you won’t be able to use certain chat channels and you will be unable to carry out any private trading. All possibilities can however be unlocked with the purchase of a Gold Pack. Alternatively you can earn yourself the Veteran rank by fulfilling certain requirements.


If you have already played AION and have paid the monthly subscription before the switch to the free-to-play model then you will be rewarded and will receive the Veteran rank. As a true and loyal player, you will enjoy some advantages over the Starter rank players: you will be able to open your own store, carry out business with the Trade Brokers or send letters with attachments.


A Gold Pack offers you the complete game experience and gives you many advantages such as shorter cooldown times for instances or more Abyss points for your victories in PvP. All game options are unlocked – for example, you will be able to use the complete chat as well as all trading functions and gather an unlimited daily amount of aether and essences. When purchasing the pack, you will be able to select how long you want its advantages to last. Once it expires you will revert to the status you had before the Gold Pack was activated.

Starting the game:

The first thing to do is choose your character, customization is done using the creation system where players can change hair styles, skin colors, ear size and shapes, facial textures and voices, height and weight, etc. Even some body parts can even be scaled. Equipment can also have different colors. You can customize your character later in the game by purchasing character customization tickets or gender change tickets.


Players choose one of the two factions:
The Asmodians:

The Asmodians are a brave nation. Their kingdom was separated from the Elyos by the Epic Cataclysm, plunging them into a world of darkness. A life submerged in darkness has made them tough and fiercely loyal to their own people, but merciless where outsiders are concerned. They live in Asmodae, the top half of Atreia, and their capital city is Pandaemonium.

The Elyos

The Elyos are a beautiful and radiant race. However, life in the light has made them arrogant: they consider themselves blessed and believe that they are the rightful owners of the entire land. They live in Elysea, the lower half of Atreia, and their capital city is Sanctum.

The Balaur:

The Balaur are mighty and highly intelligent creatures who are obsessed with power and servitude. They live in the kingdom of Balaurea and are intent on enslaving the whole of Atreia. However, the Elyos and Asmodians are fighting this dragon species.


The class determines the basic skills and role of your AION character. You have four classes to choose from at the beginning: warrior, scout, mage or priest. Once you have reached level 10 you have to choose from the following specializations:


  • Gladiator: Wear plate and dish it out at the same time. The gladiator is the heavy hitter of the two warrior specializations, and can rival other classes when it comes to destructive potential.
  • Templar: Templars are the consummate tanks of Aion. They wear shields, heavy armor, and maintain aggro for the good of the group.


  • Assassin: Assassins are the close-range killers of the scout archetype, further specializing in the art of sneaking around behind people and stabbing them.
  • Ranger: Rangers are a damage-dealing class that primarily specializes in killing things from afar, but is also equipped with a decent arsenal of melee abilities.


  • Spiritmaster: These mages specialize in the summoning of spirits; essentially, a pet class. They rely on their summons to get most of their work done, and also make good use of AoE.
  • Sorcerer: The single-target destroyers of the mage class. When it comes to blowing something up from far way, the sorcerer is near the top.


  • Cleric: The main healers of Aion. Clerics specialize in large, effective heals and group maintenance abilities. The class for those that care!
  • Chanter: The battle-priest, specializing in standing on the front lines with allies and conferring large buffs to increase their effectiveness. Also capable of soloing just fine!

Skill Chains:
– Many of the skills acquired may only be performed in a certain order/chain. Generally the skills located farther along in the chain are more powerful than those at the beginning, or those that have no prerequisite.

– The participation in PvP is rewarded with Abyss Points in the game. The game ranks players as battles are won against fellow players based on their participation in the Abyss (account types give different amounts of Abyss Points). At higher ranks the character’s wings will change in appearance to show the character’s elevated status. Also certain items can be purchased with these points such as high-end armor and weapons. The end game of Aion resolves around battles within the Abyss (PvP zone). The Abyss are fortresses which can be controlled by individual Legions (Aion equivalent of a guild). Legions in control of a castle are entitled to funding from taxes and players within the faction get specials from NPCs and discounts for travel and vendor items.

– The base process involves learning a particular form of crafting, of which there are six in Aion: weapon smithing, armor smithing, handicrafting, tailoring, alchemy, and cooking. Players can learn all six crafting professions, but can be an Expert in only two.

– Flying plays a vital role in Travel, Combat, Quests, and Crafting. It is only permitted in certain areas, known as “flight zones”. Flight is limited to 60 seconds but can be increased with various armor, titles, and other items in-game. A player may also use potions during flight which add to his or her remaining flight time.

– Mounts can be obtained through world boss drops, quests, and crafting. You can only use a mount when you are out of combat and you can remain on your mount as long as you aren’t attacked by a player or a mob. Some mounts can also be crafted.

Trailer and Gameplay Video by GamexOnline

Resource Links


This entry was posted in MMORPG and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply